WordPress vs tumblr: My Use Cases…and oh yeah: Happy New Year!

I post shorter, more light-hearted things on tumblr than I do on WordPress. On WordPress, I feel free to go long. When I go long, I guess the dark stuff comes out (however one defines ‘dark’).

The result of this seems to be differing degrees of interaction. I haven’t made a whole lot of connections on WordPress. I just can’t get into the lighter-hearted, goofy long posts that I’ve seen (there’s nothing wrong with that stuff–it’s better, in fact). It’s just not my taste I guess, not my scope. On WordPress, I go long and I go dark – but I don’t always stay dark. I often bring it full circle to some kind of resolution. I try to anyway. WordPress is my spot to type away when I’m feeling some kind of strong inspiration from some event or feeling that has provoked a lot of mental activity.

On tumblr, within the first month, I had connected with more people than I had in two years plus on WordPress.

On tumblr, I trade in visuals a lot. That constitutes the majority of my posting. When I do write a text post, I keep it short. I have a lot of practice economizing words after being on Twitter for so long (since December 2007).

I don’t know what else to say. I think I will keep doing it this way. I’ll save the long, deep rants for WordPress, and my day-to-day good news and art views – tumblr. –whoCares

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WordPress vs tumblr: My Use Cases…and oh yeah: Happy New Year!

  1. MrJohnson says:

    I’ve found that to make connections on WordPress you have to do a lot of commenting on other blogs. Just writing and waiting for people hasn’t proved very successful for me. I guess people are a little more choosy on WordPress with what they click since reading a post can take a few minutes.

    Happy New Year

    • HappyApathy says:

      The last time I was out of work, like a year ago, I was a rampant comment leaver. I think that my blog is just really bad. I don’t think I’m a bad writer, I just think that my blog really stinks. I was even trying to do the writing prompts that WordPress puts out. A big problem with me is my ‘too much info’ thing I do. I should imply stuff…leave some stuff to imagination….or something

  2. Joe says:

    Yeah, that’s the case. You have to comment on other people’s post. Simply liking a post doesn’t open the door for a connection.

Leave a Reply

