I got the job . . .

. . . and this is good, because I am much better at complaining about an existing job than a lack of a job. Anything that increases the opportunities for complaining — it is good for this blog.

It’s a contractor position. . . so . . . already: I’ll be a second class citizen there –among the full-time, vetted, bonafide staffers. See? I have already begun to complain, and I haven’t even started working there yet. I am proactive.

No, actually, it has many of the things I wanted out of a job. It’s not I.T. – but it is very data intensive. (I have all the respect in the world for I.T. people now. They are the smartest, most intense people I have ever been around. If you could point to a group that really holds things together, a group who is truly under the gun: It is I.T. people. I was in an I.T. department three years –I didn’t belong in there. I got my data chops big-time, but…yeah…that ain’t me).

I will get to pick my own tools at this job, to a degree. They told me I would be kind of ‘an island’ -I would be on my own with my enterprises – much of the time- I will not be micromanaged, I won’t have someone nearby who coughs on me or who viciously berates their family members over the phone.

Big company? Hell yes. They don’t just have a building, they have a campus. I’ll need a golf cart or a scooter or a skateboard. When I went there for the interview, there were so many twenty-something wiz kid types trotting around. That will be another thing I’m sure I will complain about — feeling old.

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I got the job . . .

  1. JC says:

    Hooray! Congratulations on the new job. It’s the perfect Christmas gift. Maybe you won’t have any complaints with this job. I don’t think your blog will lose readers due to a lack of complaints. Perhaps even more people would read if they can witness the transformation of a life as you detail every next positive thing that occurs. Who knows? Well, congrats anyhow, and Merry Christmas.

  2. 63mago says:

    Congratulations !
    And Merry Christmas.

  3. Bowrag says:

    Congrats buddy.. great Christmas present

Leave a Reply

