Do it yourself! Grrr!

Today’s WordPress writing prompt is Calling Uncle Bob. The instructions are as follows:

Have you ever faced a difficult situation when you had to choose between sorting it out yourself, or asking someone else for an easy fix? What did you choose — and would you make the same choice today?

This writing prompt describes every day at my last job. Difficult situations arose constantly. Much sorting out was required. Another staffer nearby, who had thirty years experience, could have given a quick answer with ease in many cases.

There are a few reasons why I did not go to her. First of all, she could be really grouchy. If you approached her, she could get this look on her face that had this force to it that was horrifying – it was an expression of anger and ill will stronger than any expression of ill will ever. I mean: Biblical.

I understand this though.

One thing I have noticed about smart people: They often have zero tolerance for ignorance. They have zero tolerance for people who won’t just figure it out for themselves. After all, take my coworker: She has figured out many difficult things herself. Why should she stop what she’s doing to hold my hand through some task that –to her- is easy. Plus, when you interrupt her, you have just shattered her concentration and taken her out of her zone. It took her maybe twenty or thirty minutes to get into that zone. Time loss – you have just blasted out a chunk of her schedule.

There is also this consideration: In order to come to a resolution on my own, I will have to explore and gather facts and build my own knowledge. It is a learning experience for me. And I might even find some new way to do it. (That actually happened a lot.)

I will continue to go this route, unless the time constraint is a real killer . . .and I am willing to withstand the wrath of those withering glares. Those burn.

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do it yourself! Grrr!

  1. Blue290 says:

    Some smart people also have…Empathy. It’s not a very good thing to be smart and not help others. That is borderline selfish. Yes, there are key times to stay focused and on track….but then it’s time to pause and help someone. This is called leadership, management, and sometimes even Parenting.

    🙂

  2. HappyApathy says:

    I rocked my thing today! Follow up interview next weeeeek!

Leave a Reply

