The thoughts creep in.

Here are the top ten thoughts I should be ignoring:

1. I should drive faster because the guy behind me is in a hurry.

2. I will not be able to find a job.

3. People around me are too noisy.

4. I am too old to be in the ‘life situation’ I am in.

5. I have to settle for a crummy job.

6. We will never get these boxes unpacked.

7. Jobs fall into two categories: crummy and not crummy.

8. I need a new ______.

9. A cloud of bad luck or karma or gossip is hanging over me.

10. I don’t need exercise.

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The thoughts creep in.

  1. Blue290 says:

    I have a similar list on my whiteboard at work…for the same reasons: There is no script. (If people don’t follow it, I get upset) People (usually) do not have direct intent against me….except for the entire floor at work. 😉
    And so forth. This is a side effect of getting older. We have “Been There, Done That” and I think its okay to be a little selfish. Dammit…We paid our dues!!!

  2. HappyApathy says:

    Yeah man. Reminds me of some Smiths lyrics: “and everybody’s got to live their life, God knows I’ve got to live mine.”

    I do need my space and i do need a living. If I am bringing value, let me bring it.

  3. MrJohnson says:

    I feel like less of a man every time I feel #1.

  4. Lori D says:

    Yes, ignore them, or perhaps replace them with something else. Like, “the right job is just around the corner.” Or, “a crummy job might be at a good company where I can eventually find a great job.” Or, “I have a lot to offer with my talents and good nature.” You get the drift. I know, it’s easier said than done. Wish I could give some better advice. I’ll send those positive thoughts your way Mister HappyApathy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

