You guys cheated.

The WordPress daily writing prompt today is Ready, Set, Done! Wordpress’s instructions were:

Our ten-minute free-write is back for another round! Tap away on whatever comes to mind, no filters attached. (Feel free to edit later, or just publish as-is).

(There are no edits in a free-write!) Anyway, here’s what I typed, as-is:

I worried that my head was too polluted for a true free-write, and then I started to think about the thoughts that were coming into my head, so that is where I will start and focus I guess: the thoughts coming through my head: there are the things I need to do; there are the sounds I hear outside; there are the memories that surface; there is the direction to keep going with the free-write without stopping, not worrying about grammar, punctuation or spelling; there is the mandate to keep on typing no matter what; how many people will actually read this anyway? It doesn’t matter. It’s an exercise. Wow, ten minutes is a long time, when I timed myself last time, I typed 62 words per minute with no mistakes – that is no lie. I couldn’t believe it. It was for some employment test through some site called prooveit. I typed some stuff they had on the screen, I was really focused for that. This is like that. This is a typing test where errors do not matter. I wish more of life was like that. Errors do matter. Errors can cost you so much. Errors dictate where you end up in large part. They really do. Some philosopher’s statistic comes to mind now: Life is fifty percent self determined, fifty percent fate. There’s what moves you make and then there’s ‘what happens to you.’ That is about right I think. Maybe you can sway that through sheer force of will. Will I actually type 62 times 10 words making what six hundred some words? I been trying to keep my posts under two hundred words so that people will actually read them. Man, if you come to a blog post and it just goes and goes and goes, do you read the whole thing? Or do you skim it? I confess that I will skim it. But, if you come to a post that is short – like the whole post fits on one screen, and you don’t even have to scroll down to read the whole thing – are you more likely to read it? Is brevity the key? There is actually a great journal called Brevity. You really should read it. You should submit something to it. They have rejected me so far. I haven’t received a rejection letter from a literary journal in a long time. Does that mean my stuff is getting accepted? Hell na. What else: living in my car. Where would I park. I do not yet live in my car, but that has been on my mind lately. I think I would be okay. I would just keep applying for jobs until somebody hired me. Because I do not have a job and nobody is hiring. Would you hire me? Do you have any openings where you work? I know that is a tasteless tactless thing to do during a free-write –and hopeless at that – nobody’s actually reading this and I can actually type pretty fast so people are going to be like, man, I an’t reading that, no way. And I’ll tell you what else, I think people cheated. I saw some pretty polished looking writing out there with pretty pictures inserted into posts and stufvf….

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You guys cheated.

  1. Blue290 says:

    Seek Help Man!!!!! (Save me a seat)

  2. 63mago says:

    Living in a car in the woods … a new Wandering Scribe ?

Leave a Reply

