Unemployed Dude’s To Do List:

  • Apply for jobs
  • Make more versions of the resume
  • Read about some new technology, maybe go for a cert
  • Post to blog
  • Write letters
  • Conserve savings
  • Volunteer
  • Roam around department stores, don’t buy anything
  • Stand beside road
  • Meditate
  • Stand in yard
  • Throw rocks
About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unemployed Dude’s To Do List:

  1. This blog is a lot more entertaining than your last one.

  2. 63mago says:

    Don’t forget the “Read depressing books”-point on your enumeration.

    • HappyApathy says:

      Oh yes. That is definitely a to-do item today. That, and googling images of pylons.

      • 63mago says:

        And – just to keep the flow – you could start to listen to Joy Division.

        It seems to be a rural area where you live, sorry I forgot the location, you linked a pylon on my blog, its in the Carolinas if I remember it correctly.
        What kind of industry is there around you ? What do people do there for a living, except meth-cooking ? Is there a possibility to volunteer on something ? Are there historical places (sorry, but I’m a kind of historian) around you ? I went this evening to a meeting here in my village and people will do some audio-bits and pieces about local more or less interesting things (Remember my post about that “Roman” bridge ?). I’m in no way able on the technical side of this, but there is a chance to write something in the local paper – of course all this is bringing in no money now, but for me it means contacts : And contacts are valueable. Is there something similar around you ? I mean throwing stones may be a nice hobby, and meditating is surely a path to enlightenment, no doubt, but is it something that will pay the bills ? Going hunting is also something that fills the pot (if you know how to deal with dead animals), growing vegetables too – my Scotish blogging friend is actually doing this, and she got a lot out of her plot of land, helps for the next winter. I wish I wouldn’t be that bad with greenery, only the tough survive here.
        Sorry for all these questions – I’m sure there is no new one for you in this list, it’s just what came to my mind.

      • HappyApathy says:

        Joy Division, yeah! I got on a serious kick with them for a while. That movie Control, I really liked that.

        The big thing around here right now is tobacco. They are finishing up the tobacco harvest right now.

        There are some factories of various kinds around. There’s a cosmetics factory, Coty. There’s a tractor factor, Caterpilar.

        We’re actually moving at the end of the week. We’re moving into Raleigh, NC. It’s the state capital, and there is much more going on there.

        One thing out here though is Temple Theater. It’s an historic landmark. It was on the vaudeville circuit back in early 20th century. I would have volunteered there if we had stayed here any longer.

        My brother inlaw hunts out here all the time. I’m not really into it though. I’m more of a suburbs kind of guy.

  3. 63mago says:

    Tobacco … yeah, the industry of the future … the Winter Brothers, each one of them, delivered killer versions of Tobacco Road.
    Best wishes for the move – I hope in the capital are more and better chances for both of you – good luck !
    I have to look for the Temple Theater, maybe one of the burlesque goddesses played there.

Leave a Reply

