A List of Items

  • The lack of work has opened up a huge space for my brains to run wild in.
  • They are dropping bombs today, 30 miles away, practicing. You can hear it clearly.
  • All I can think to listen to lately is The Sea and Cake.
  • I will not be unemployed for the rest of my life.
  • I was staring at my face in the mirror, and my brow seems stuck in this clenched up state.
  • Trucks are hauling ass out here, trying to get that tobacco harvest in. They zoom by at frightful speeds.
  • I could never make it as a country mouse.
  • I didn’t make it as a city dweller.
  • Give me suburbs, I guess, and strip malls.
  • Wikipedia says there are 65,840 strip malls in the United States.
  • Strip Malls: They are what is here. Sometimes I just go to them. They have things there that help me with my life.
About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A List of Items

  1. Lori D says:

    Interesting to read what a man thinks about when he’s got lots of time to think. I’m a suburbanite kinda-person myself. I don’t know what you’re looking to do, but I was just at the mall and saw JC Penney had a Help Wanted sign. At least the one by me. I don’t know what kind of skills you have, but I know the trades are in high demand. My husband works in the car repair business, and it’s difficult to find employees with the skills they need to work for him. I just wish there was some direction I could help point you in to for employment. Anyway, stay covered from those bombs. Maybe one will shake that eyebrow loose and un-stick it from the upright position. 🙂

    • I’m about ready to try anything at this point. I have an interview tomorrow, so hopefully that will go well. Thanks for that information, yeah, you know I bet there are quite a few retail openings with the holiday season and all. I wish I had that kind of skill – wow – working on cars . . . especially with all the electronics and all, wow. And yeah, I’ll stay clear of all that bombing practice, ha!

  2. Mildred Ratched says:

    I’ve lived in all three settings and the one I seem to have called home is a small city along the Redneck Riviera…country is very close by and large cities are within a few hours drive. What I like best is that the ocean is close by. It seems to have a soothing effect on me. As for strip malls….too many vacant ones throughout the U.S. just taking up space. I’ve never been able to figure out why they build more when so many remain vacant.

    What kind of a job are you seeking if you don’t mind me asking?

    • Data stuff, if possible. That’s what I worked in last, databases, tables, queries, reporting.

      They do continue to build those new strip malls . . .a lot of times, right down the street from a strip mall that just went out of business. Weird how business works.

      Redneck Riviera? Is that Destin? Ha, I have some family there.

  3. I really enjoyed reading this post! Many of the points made me smile because they are things I have thought as well 🙂 Kick ass at your interview! Sharon

Leave a Reply

