Bored

look_left                                      look_right

Above are the views from our residence, to the southwest, and to the northeast. The closest visible neighbor is a quarter of a mile away. There are stretches of time when we don’t see a car driving by for…half an hour…maybe more.

Lately trucks are rumbling past, pulling trailers full of tobacco leaves. The leaves blow all over the place. There are some lying in the street out there right now. Freshly picked. If I was hard up enough, I’d go out there and grab em and dry em out and smoke em.

I often hear gun shots in the distance. OFTEN. Rifles and shotguns and whatever else. I have been thinking about getting a shotgun, just for fun. I think I could take it out back and shoot it in the woods. I’m not sure what the point would be…other than adrenaline. I wouldn’t want to shoot any animals. I wouldn’t want to shoot any trees either, for that matter. With my luck, I would be the one idiot that gets busted when the sheriff goes by, and I’m out there blasting away. I’m not sure what the law is. I sure do hear other people out there shooting guns a lot, all around us.

I haven’t shot a gun in a really really long time. Walmart has this Remington 870 for sale for 300 bucks. I have been thinking about it a lot lately. I don’t know. I keep wavering on that decision. I got no guns currently.
It looks like we’ll only be living here for another two or three months. Then I go from being a country boy back to being a suburban apartment rat again.

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bored

  1. Blue290 says:

    Some of us would kill to be that isolated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

