The Writer Fantasy

I used to have the writer fantasy. Now I am dealing with the aftermath of that fantasy. 

The aftermath of a writer fantasy: That is the subject for a whole different blog post – a whole blog – a whole book – a whole series of books …and I’ll not get into it now. The reality that the ‘being a writer’ thing – being a professional writer …ain’t gonna happen prolly…that’s what I’m talkin about here.

The idea of being a guy who sits around in front of a typewriter awaiting inspiration, awaiting checks from editors or publishers…the idea of being a ‘starving artist’ …the idea of being Jack Kerouac or John Steinbeck or Ernest Hemingway or ….Hunter Thompson…this idea is gone gone gone. 

I’m just a guy who occasionally likes to write…like as a hobby …as a form of therapy …writing as a nervous habit…writing as a way to occupy idle hands — that’s me. I work jobs, real jobs (sort of real). Nobody is paying me to write stuff. It is highly probably that nobody ever will. That does not stop me from writing though — so maybe I am writing for the ‘right reasons’ …for me…or not even for me…writing for the sake of writing…

About HappyApathy

It eels what it eels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Writer Fantasy

  1. twaldron2014 says:

    Since I have liked all of the authors you mentioned, I think we have both had that same fantasy. Blogging is a nice outlet for it that doesn’t take (for me) the talent or the discipline to mastermind some giant, cohesive novel. Good luck with the move!

Leave a Reply

